Contest – The Peggy Willis Lyles Haiku Awards for 2020

  • Maximum number of haiku allowed: five (5) haiku in English
  • Judging criteria: Selection will be blind to authorship and the sole criterion will be excellence
  • Judge: to be identified with the winners
  • Entry fee: none
  • Eligibility: all haiku poets other than the staff of The Heron’s Nest, and the contest judge
  • Awards:
    • First Place – $150 plus a copy of To Hear the Rain and a miniature crystal turtle
    • Second Place – $75 plus a copy of To Hear the Rain
    • Third Place – $50 plus a copy of To Hear the Rain
    • Honorable Mention (up to five recipients) – award certificates and recognition on our “Awards” page and in our annual print edition.NOTE: monetary awards to non-US winners will be made through PayPal, where possible, in order to avoid the high cost of bank processing fees.
  • Deadline for entries: June 1, 2020
  • How to enter: By email to John Stevenson at (put “Peggy Willis Lyles Haiku Award” in the subject line; provide haiku in the body of the email only–attachments will not be opened; include your name and your location as you would like to see each listed) The submitted poems must not have been published; not accepted for publication; not under consideration by anyone other than us until we announce the contest results.
  • Announcement of results: July 31, 2020 on our web site.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *